• Alchemy500


Vertigo/Warner Bros. (1983)

Album Credits

Mark Knopfler: guitar & vocals
John Illsley: bass
Alan Clark: keyboards
Hal Lindes: guitar
Terry Williams: drums

Additional musicians:
Tommy Mandel: additional keyboards
Mel Collins: saxophone
Joop de Korte: percussion

All songs written and produced by Mark Knopfler
Recorded by Mike McKenna, Rolling Stones Mobile, July 1983
Mixed at Air Studios, London, November 1983
Engineered by Nigel Walker, assisted by Jeremy Allom
Artwork by Brett Whitely, © adapted from Alchemy 1974
Design by C More Tone Studios


Disc 1

  • 1. Once Upon A Time In The West (live)
  • 2. Romeo And Juliet (live)
  • 3. Expresso Love (live)
  • 4. Private Investigations (live)
  • 5. Sultans Of Swing (live)
  • 6. Two Young Lovers (live)

Disc 2

  • 1. Intro (The Carousel Waltz) [live]
  • 2. Tunnel of Love (live)
  • 3. Telegraph Road (live)
  • 4. Solid Rock (live)
  • 5. Going Home - Theme From 'Local Hero (live)

Did you know?

  • Although shows in Paris and London were recorded for Alchemy, only the London tapes were used.
  • The voice that introduces the band is Joop de Korte, who also served as production manager and played percussion from off-stage.